Skip to content

Good heavens, it’s closing in on a month since I last posted.

December 10, 2010

It’s been busy to put it mildly.  Thanksgiving was an utter blowout.  My two older kids had the stomach flu.  The eldest covered the in-laws bathroom with hurl and so she and I headed home with the baby to try to hydrate (didn’t go so well, even with zofran).  Thankfully everyone recovered, including my father-in-law, brother-in-law, and myself all of whom were ever so unfortunate to also contract that stomach flu.  I made a turkey dinner later in the week to make up for my complete lack of a holiday dinner.  It turned out well and was enjoyed by all.

Following that catastrophe, we were told that our youngest might suffer from hearing loss and that it needed to be checked out.  After the pediatrician visit and a phone consult with an audiologist, we were falling apart with worry.  Fortunately, the medical professionals were wrong and the baby simply was sleeping like a brick (through the car alarm, pots banged next to his head, and a ship’s bell rung near him – it was crazy!!).

If you need a good laugh, at my expense, I did convince my husband to take us out to get a Christmas tree (of course I tracked down the sale trees at Pike Nurseries where they were donating a percentage to the Children’s Hospital and to a foster kid gift program).  Needless to say, the tree fell, not once, or twice, but three times – the last two ON me.  Ridiculous.

But the beauty of all this craziness is that it has actually been a wonderful holiday season (Thanksgiving aside – that was awful) for me spiritually.  I’ve pulled back from all the activities that were simply draining my time and resources that weren’t providing our family with much if any spiritual reward.  I have been blessed with the support of the other families at our parish during our deafness scare and had a newfound depth of understanding on the phrase from Our Lord’s Prayer, “Thy will be done.”  It is so hard to let go of the illusion of control and simply allow for the fact that while we do have freedom of choice in our lives, for good or for evil, we don’t know His Plan and we have to trust that He knows what is best for us.

Homeschooling continues to go well, aside from the eldest learning to read which continues to painfully drag along.  The whole family is looking forward to the science fair project on rockets, especially my husband and our middle son!  I have lots of field trips planned for the upcoming months and we’re closing in on the halfway point to meeting the state’s requirement of 180 school days, although we will continue to school year round in excess of that requirement.  We’re on our third reading program, Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons.  Hooked On Phonics and Explode the Code did not work for our eldest. I’ll have to update with how we schedule our daily tasks related to homeschooling at some point.

I’ve donated 184 items to charity as part of our Advent preparation.  It’s quite bittersweet to be finished with all the tiny things for the children and handing them off for other families to use.  I did completely clean out and organize the attic as part of our preparations.

Today’s goals are fairly simple.   Homeschool, clean, do some laundry, bake brownies for the spouse, make a broccoli chicken casserole, chicken pot pie, and a batch or arroz con pollo while trying to keep the littles from destroying the house!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kim permalink
    December 13, 2010 8:29 am

    Liz, can you post your brownie recipe?

    • dachshundqueen permalink*
      December 14, 2010 12:52 pm

      I will do my best to post it shortly.

Leave a Reply

