Skip to content

Revisiting composting.

November 16, 2010

Composting is a fairly simple process where you combine kitchen and yard waste to make new soil for your garden or landscaping.  I am honestly shocked by the quantity of vegetable and fruit waste that we produce.  With a focus on recycling and composting, our trash output diminishes to one regular kitchen garbage bag per week.  Unfortunately, the county doesn’t reward us for such efforts.

I tried composting our blueberry bushes this year.  I’m not sure if it helped or hurt.  I am certain that my lack of watering helped kill them though.  Ah, late pregnancy and outdoor chores with the threat of the state bird, the mosquito, helped to knock back the growth of all of our landscaping and what little survived in our garden year over year.

The only drawback to composting that I have found is the attraction factor.  We have squirrels that love to try to live in our attic.  The compost pile is as far away from the house as possible.  My only concern is that the piles, even when properly maintained attract rodents, raccoons, and possums.  None of which are welcome!  Hopefully by mid spring next year I’ll have a huge pile of compost to put on the landscaping in the front of the house, which I’ve been trying to nurture as when we moved in there was no mature landscaping on the property at all.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 11, 2010 3:44 am

    how are you I was luck to seek your theme in bing
    your subject is impressive
    I get a lot in your blog really thank your very much
    btw the theme of you blog is really impressive
    where can find it

Leave a Reply

