Skip to content

Desperation breeds ingenuity.

October 12, 2010

The short version.

In the weeks leading up to the birth of our third child, our eldest child became inconsolable at night with frequent night waking and restrooms breaks to the tune of every three to five minutes. Yes, it was a long few weeks. We finally broke down. Two nights ago after we had tried everything I had a brainstorm. I’ve posted before that we have a very small miniature dachshund. His name is Skippy and he is partially blind and suffers from disc disease. My idea was to pay my eldest five cents (Go big spender!) for the job of  keeping the dog tucked under the covers with her so that he didn’t get lost, fall down the stairs in the dark, or wander the house.  None of these things is likely, aside from perhaps the dog walking into a wall.  However, it’s been working.

The lead up.
We had discussed with her why she was doing this. We had redone the evening routine. We had actively spent more time with her during the day. We had given her extra bedtime tuck-ins. We had eliminated television, much to a small Dinosaur Train fan’s dismay. In response to concerns about her younger brother, we had revamped our diet, again, to 98% whole foods based. Nothing. What we had was a screaming, body flinging, throwing things, beating the walls, crazy child. It reminded me of the stories of Fairie where a fairy who has lusted after a real child as children are not common in Fairie trade one of the Fairie creatures magically endowed to look human. Of course, these creatures, also known as changelings, aren’t human and they are holy terrors.  Now I don’t believe in magical creatures, but people, I was on the brink in dealing with this problem.

The resolution.

Returning our eldest to our bed simply wasn’t an option.  She needs her sleep, and honestly I’m loathe to have anyone else in my bed at this point.  After bed sharing for five years and after two years having four people in my bed, and a small dachshund, I have come to appreciate the vast wonderful acres of my king size bed.  The newborn bounces between our bed and the crib, depending on the time of day.  I’m up nursing repeatedly during the night and the new baby has a two-hour “awake” period that isn’t conducive to anyone else’s sleep.  In our frazzled state, we had tried everything and nothing was working.  I was beginning to think we were going to go insane between the newborn’s sleep schedule and our eldest’s complete lack thereof.  I’m not sure how I came up with this plan, but it’s been working.  I went to the bank yesterday and picked up a roll of nickels for payment.  The middle child also has a “job”.  His job is to stay in his bed.  He already does this, so it’s easy money for him but he desperately wanted a job too.  I can afford a nickel, and he’s sleeping through the night.  Enough said!  While we were at the bank, the branch manager gave the children free piggy banks (score!) to store their earnings.  I had contemplated how we were going to make attractive banks from pint jars; problem solved.

Now, if only our youngest would realize that being awake during the day was worthwhile.  He is a very sleepy little bear and we’ve done all the tricks such as lots of daylight and keeping him nearby in our activities.  Two down, one to go.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2010 8:27 am

    Do you do blogroll exchanging? If you want to exchange links let me know.

    Email me back if you’re interested.

  2. December 4, 2010 12:49 pm

    Hey how are you doing? I just wanted to stop by and say that it’s been a pleasure reading your blog. I have bookmarked your website so that I can come back & read more in the future as well. plz do keep up the quality writing

Leave a Reply

