Skip to content

Yet another thrilling (exasperating) visit to the OB office.

July 29, 2010

OB visits are such a pain.  Truly they are.  It’s a long drive all the way downtown, and I have to pay for parking.  I am then given the pleasure of sitting and waiting for the better part of an hour after peeing ever so gingerly into a cup and hopefully not all over myself.  There is one OB in the practice that I frequent that I simply do not get along with at all.  I’ll put it bluntly.  I do believe she thinks that I am of diminished mental capacity.  I kid you not.

Our conversation today goes along these lines.  Everything is fine, baby is growing, I’m gaining, blah blah blah.  Wait for it.

OB: Anything else?

Me: I received a call from your nurse stating that I needed to have additional blood work done by an endocrinologist as your labs indicated that I was both having additonal trouble with my thyroid and that my iron count was low.  I went to my internist who did an iron study and an expanded thyroid panel both of which came back within the normal range (*for me, as he has all of my labs from the last 10 years and through 3 pregnancies now).  He advised that I did not need to to change my thyroid medication dosage nor take an iron supplement at this time.

OB: Hmmm.  He doesn’t handle pregnant women.  He doesn’t realize that you’re going to continue to deplete your iron stores as pregnancy progresses.  I’ll check your labwork from here.  (Leaves room)  Well, thyroid was normal (*internist received copies of labwork from OB nurse – OB office uses an outdated test that actually provides no relevant info).  Iron was low.  You need to take an iron supplement.

Me: Well, my iron might have been low because I was throwing up the prenatals (gagging on them then hurling) for the 3 previous weeks to the bloodwork.  I’m more able to tolerate them now and haven’t been throwing them up any more.

OB: You need to take a prescription prenatal with extra iron or an additional iron supplement.

Me: I’d really rather not.  Those cause constipation and a host of other problems for me.  Can I not increase my iron rich foods in my diet, especially as I’m now tolerating my prenatals which should have bolstered my iron levels?

OB: I can’t force you to take the pills.

Me: So, increasing my iron rich foods in my diet ???

OB: You know, if you bleed a lot during delivery and your iron is low you’re going to need a blood transfusion.

Me: Silence.  (Well duh, anyone who hemorrhages during delivery needs a blood transfusion – I’m not following her logic here.  So…statistically, because I’m .2 low on my iron, apparently in her mind I am therefore going to bleed out during delivery because I won’t take the prescription iron she wants me to take?  On the flip side, if I take the prescription prenatals and I hemorrhage during labor/delivery she’s not going to order a blood transfusion for me?)

End of appointment.  Thank you Lord.

Do note that my internist is actually quite advanced in terms of handling these types of issues.  He  learns new things unlike the OB apparently.  This particular OB is known for being c-section happy.  Her nurse asked me when I would be scheduling my induction as my last pregnancy went to 41 weeks 3 days (with no problems).  I’m 32 weeks on Sunday.  Maybe the new ACOG guidelines will knock some sense into her, unlikely.

My only other thought here is, if the OB is so very concerned about my iron levels, having given her the info about me being sick prior to the last round of iron lab work, why not order a new iron study as I’ve been tolerating the prenatals before jumping to prescription prenatals and additional iron supplements that I’ve already told her make life difficult for me (to put it mildly)?

DQ

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2010 10:53 pm

    do u have a twitter

    • dachshundqueen permalink*
      August 4, 2010 4:27 pm

      I’m sorry, but I haven’t managed to branch out yet.

  2. August 6, 2010 2:56 am

    Amazing post. I have bookmarked your site. I am looking forward to reading more

Leave a Reply

