Skip to content

Busy days and crock pots

July 27, 2010

I’ve had a lot on my plate lately.  Being nearly eight months pregnant slows me down more than I’d like to admit, this morning I had to take a nap.  Our youngest is sick and was crying on and off all night from fever, congestion and just generally feeling icky.  Yesterday I decided to undertake raking the leaves in our front yard and hauling them out back in 100 degree heat with the heat index, as always, brilliant move.  I was nearly 2/3 done with the job when the thunderstorms started in earnest.  I gave up at that point; a nice neat yard isn’t worth electrocution.  I cleaned the house yesterday as well, so I did utterly wear myself out.

Today, we’ve been staying inside as our youngest continues to feel horrible.  I only have a short to do list for myself: 1. vacuum house and car, 2. cooking – oatmeal, banana muffins, grilled cheese, sweet potato and black bean enchiladas, and key lime pie, 3. keep the kids from going bonkers.  As I already napped, I should be able to finish up the remainder.  Well, I did all the cooking, finished raking the leaves, composted the blueberries (involves dragging a trash can full of compost to the front yard, good fun), and managed to tidy the house after the kids wrecked it.  I have gotten them into the habit of cleaning up every single night.   They still revolt at doing it, but it does get done.  I had to choose between leaves and vacuuming and leaves won out.  I hit two nests that ants had made in the fresh leaf piles from yesterday, really ants, why??  Was that truly necessary?  I also scared a rabbit out from underneath the kids Jeep Wrangler, woops.  Other than that, yesterday I found a snake skin in the backyard, perhaps if I were a kid that would be neat, but as an adult not a winner.

I’m trying a new recipe for the enchiladas, including making the sauce from scratch.  I’ll add it later, after we’ve had a chance to try it.  I made the oatmeal in the crockpot and this being my second try, I’m still not impressed.  In order to keep it from drying out, one must add buckets of water which then have to be reduced or drained later.  I added cinnamon, nutmeg, and a grated apple, but was left with a watery oatmeal with a strange blackish crust on it.  Mmm mmm good…..  I’ll stick with my soak overnight and cook the steel cut oats in the morning approach.  At least then I’m not turned off by my handiwork.

Regarding the enchiladas, the enchilada sauce was good.  The beans and sweet potato mixture that I crock potted was lacking.  So, back to square one on the bean and sweet potato mix.  I used a popular online recipe for that, and I’m wondering why on earth it’s so popular.  It’s reheating now; I used the leftovers to make myself a quesadilla for lunch with the lonely remaining burrito wrap.

I even had the pleasure of a shower today, which I didn’t get yesterday (even after getting all gross raking up and carrying all those leaves to the backyard) so I’m feeling fresh as a daisy.  Bad news, I broke the spouse’s razor while I was showering.  I negligently knocked it to the tub floor and wham-o now it won’t accept the razor head.

On a side note, people slowed down when they were driving by watching me rake and haul leaves out back.  It occurs to me that I must be a sight, 8 months pregnant doing yard work in 93+ degree heat.

Key Lime Pie

Graham Cracker Crust:

In food processor with blade, process 1 sleeve of graham crackers, 6 tablespoons unsalted butter, 1/8 cup of honey.  Press into pie plate and bake at 350 degrees until very lightly browned, less than 10 minutes.  Check on it frequently.  Set aside to cool.

Filling:

  • 1/2 cup plain unflavored yogurt
  • 3/4 cup key lime juice (takes the majority of a bag of key limes)
  • 1 tablespoon grated lime zest
  • 2 cans Sweetened Condensed Milk (I have a sub recipe below if you’d like to be a guinea pig)
  • Whipped cream

*To make one can sweetened condensed milk, combine 1 c. plus 2 tbsp. dry milk, 1/2 c. warm water, 3/4 c. sugar.  (So double that.) Mix dry milk and water. Set in pan of hot water and add sugar, stirring until sugar is dissolved.  Watch to avoid scorching.  Allow to cool to avoid curdling your yogurt. *

Today I used 2 cans of condensed sweetened milk, because I actually had them on hand!  What a shocker!!

Add remaining ingredients.

Fill pie shell.

Bake at 350 degrees until you start to see small bubbles forming in the filling.  Do not brown.  Chill in your refridgerator until you are ready to serve.  When serving, slice last key lime and use it as decoration in your whipped cream on each slice of pie.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. nuskinf6 permalink
    August 4, 2010 7:31 am

    Interesting web site! I haven’t found dachshundqueen.wordpress.com before in my surfing!
    Keep up the good work!

Trackbacks

  1. Your Garden

Leave a Reply

