Skip to content

Why an $11 organic chicken is cheap.

July 19, 2010

Of interest in the kitchen would be the $11 organic whole chicken we bought from Costco that became four meals. I roasted it in a covered clay roaster. The first night was roasted chicken. The carcass and its pickings became chicken with rice soup. We left the chicken covered in simmering water overnight and it cooked into a most flavorful and wonderful smelling broth. Leftover meat was turned into chicken with veggies in sauce over rice. The remaining chicken still hasn’t found a recipe yet! So for $11 I was able to make 4 meat based meals.

If you don’t buy organic chicken, I saw that already roasted conventional chickens at Costco were in the $4 range.  I’m fairly certain that grocery stores sell them as well for a reasonable price.  I am somewhat disturbed by the smell of those chickens, so I don’t buy them.

I am also notorious for doing what people consider shorting others on their meat servings at dinner.  Having researched, in addition to visiting the nutritionist repeatedly in my life, I am well aware of what consists of a single portion serving of protein is at a meal.  I can assure you that it is not a 3/4 or 1 pound boneless skinless chicken breast, as my spouse would love it to be.

Let’s ignore the actual number of  serving suggestions on the USDA food pyramid but agree that the serving sizes are accurate: “Meat, Poultry, Fish, Dry Beans, Eggs and Nuts: 2-3 ounces of cooked lean meat, poultry or fish, 1/2 cup of cooked dry beans, 1 egg or 2 tablespoons of peanut butter count as 1 ounce of lean meat.”  Some people need more protein, like myself, and some need less but either way 1 chicken breast is multiple servings.

So there you have it, one chicken can make a number of satisfying meals provided you have properly rounded it out with fruits, veggies and starches!

DQ

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

