Skip to content

Banana Pudding.

July 19, 2010

My friend gave me a recipe for banana pudding over a year ago (placing bag on head now) that is ridiculously tasty. We had it at her house. I purchased all the ingredients, except the wrong flavor of pudding and apparently a too small container of Cool Whip. I bought banana creme instead of vanilla. Hating going to the store, I’m going to try it with said adjustment. I already blew all of my grocery money for the rest of the month so the only thing I can pick up with a clear conscience is bread at the $1 loaf sale today.

Here’s the recipe, I don’t know to whom to attribute as it was given to me from a friend.  **Added: So I butchered this recipe and the quantities I used in no way reflect the quantities of the original recipe.  Big surprise.  I have amended the recipe as follows to reflect my preferences.

2 bags of Pepperidge Farm Chessman cookies
2 bananas – thinly sliced by 5 year old (excellent for fine motor skills), use more if your family likes sliced bananas a lot, ours prefers them in smoothies
2 cups of skim milk (I used reconstituted dry.)
2 – .9 oz. Boxes Jell-O Banana Cream Instant Pudding (Sugar/fat free)
8 oz. package softened cream cheese
14 oz. can sweetened condensed milk (Publix)
8 oz. container Cool whip (left in fridge)

1.  You’ll need a 13×9 glass pan.

2.  In the bottom of the pan, place 1 bag of the cookies.  You will have 2 cookies left over, give one to each child.  Place your 2 sliced bananas on top.

3.  In your KitchenAid mixer with whisk attachment, place the cream cheese and sweetened milk.  Run until it combines thoroughly.  Add the skim milk and the 2 packages of Jell-O.  Run on high to combine and thicken.

4.  Add the whipped topping and run mixer on high.  The sides of the bowl will need to be scraped down a few times.

5.  Pour on top of cookies/bananas.  Top with the second bag of cookies as you serve or else the cookies get soft in the fridge.  If you are serving to a large group at once, top with all the cookies.  Cover with plastic wrap and store in fridge.

The kids and I already had a heaping bowl, and it was tasty.  Perfect for a hot day in the South!  Yum yum!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 19, 2010 9:26 am

    Sounds YUMMYYYY..Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

