Skip to content

Rice and beans. Rice and beans. Rice and beans ad nauseum.

July 14, 2010

I’ll be honest. I’m really getting tired of some variant of rice, and/or beans for meals. We have a lot of beans and a lot of brown rice that do need to be used up. We’re down to 1 pound of ground beef and 2 pounds of sausage in our freezer. Otherwise, I’ve been utilizing the ethnic farmers’ market for the majority of fruit and vegetable purchases as they carry both a wider and fresher variety of fruits and vegetables than the local grocery stores/big box superstores.
The good news is that our pantry stores of random items is substantially depleted so that at the end of July I will be able to start anew with pantry stocks that we regularly rotate through with some form of quickness. I don’t think I’ll be buying any additional tinned fish in the near future. I have yet to find a decent way to use up tinned fish that is truly palatable. We do enjoy eating fish, but tinned fish doesn’t seem to hit the mark.
I’ve been baking a fairly decent amount of snacks, especially muffins. Last night I was contemplating baking some granola to feed the children as “cereal” as they have been asking for some. My only concern is that we live in the South and that it’s so hot that running the oven is not recommended! I also have yet to find a recipe for baking granola or tweak a recipe that allows the granola to be “chunky” enough to be similar to commercially made. Yet another item on my list, right?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

