Skip to content

Pantry Challenge, Again!, and Quiche Recipe

July 9, 2010

So, I’m in the midst of yet another pantry “challenge”. Believe me, it’s quite challenging! I realized this morning that we were utterly without vegetables and down to half a bag of grapes, excepting the frozen mixed veggies I intend to use for fried rice early next week and a bag of frozen artichoke hearts which are so expensive they are only used in spinach artichoke dip (and the kids hate them otherwise). Therefore, I realized that I probably needed to do some grocery shopping. I have been fairly pleased with the grocery shopping budget of late and with our eating out expenditures, or lack thereof. My spouse will eat out at lunchtimes fairly frequently, and doesn’t realize how it adds up. I am currently budgeting $75 per week for groceries and he can easily spend $25 per week or more eating out at fast food. Forget it if I crumble and take the children out to lunch at Chick Fil A or some other similar restaurant, that’s easily $17 for the three of us. It’s a work in progress for me to pack the lunches and him to remember, or receive a gentle reminder to take them. He works very hard to support our family, so I am certainly not going to fault him eating fast food should that be his desire.

So I managed $65 in groceries for the week, which includes a $12 iron supplement as I am anemic of late, always good times being hugely pregnant. I was able to purchase a large quantity of fresh fruits and vegetables, basil, 2 packages of cheese, 1.5 dozen eggs, 8 pounds of organic whole wheat flour, 4 loaves of bread, a Pillsbury crust (the unfold it kind) and 2 bags of powdered donuts (for unnamed persons – ahem, spouse, ahem – who shares them with the short people in his graciousness). Life is short!

Tonight we had quiche. I realized that if I didn’t buy the pre-made crust at the store we would be going out to eat and decided it was the lesser of two evils. With the anemia, my thyroid out of whack, and being a beached beluga whale, I am utterly bone tired exhausted. I also had a blood draw today. Enjoying my rationalization here? I am, quite amusing. Cleaning out the pantry, I had a tin of evaporated milk, a half dozen eggs and some Parmesan cheese.

Pantry Clean Out Quiche:

1 tin evaporated milk
6 eggs
1/4 cup Parmesan cheese shredded
1/2 bun of fresh spinach, steamed, squeezed, chopped
2 slices bacon (Coleman!) chopped
dash nutmeg, paprika
1/4 t garlic powder
S&P
3/4 t dehydrated onion (remember my rant about lack of onions?-ongoing)
1 pie crust (I used Pillsbury although I usually make Martha Stewart’s pate brisee)

425 degree oven. I have a shallow quiche pan from Williams-Sonoma that was a wedding gift, $7.00 I believe. Perfect for said endeavor. Place crust in quiche pan, forcing it into the grooves. Sprinkle seasonings, bacon, spinach and cheese on crust. Beat together eggs and tinned milk. Pour into crust. Don’t forget to be extra careful when placing your pan in the oven if using a “tart/quiche” pan – that way you don’t accidentally push your center through the ring. Gently place in oven. Cook till done. It will puff up similar to souffle.

I served it with steamed acorn squash (butter and maple syrup are an excellent topping) and started with a caprese salad (slices of mozzarella topped with basil, tomato, balsamic and olive oil).

Quiches are an excellent use of varying cooked veggies floating around in your fridge from earlier in the week, as are soups.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

