Skip to content

Not Processed? Houston we have a problem.

May 9, 2010

It’s Mother’s Day.  I usually do all the lawn work.  Today, my spouse is mowing and spreading pesticide.  I usually mow the front one day and the back another.  Problem is that my youngest and my father-in-law are allergic to ants and it’s ant season.  Pesticide needs to be spread and it’s generally advisable that 20 week pregnant women don’t engage in that kind of foolishness.  So, while he is slaving away, I baked some apple cinnamon muffins and I’m racking my brain (and the internet) for a cake to bake to celebrate how much I love my family.

On a side note, I’m also racking my brain to come up with snacks that aren’t terribly processed that my spouse and I can provide the family quickly and easily.  Unfortunately, we’ve had a whole lot of difficulty on that issue.

Snacks for the made at home family:

  1. Muffins
  2. Nuts/seeds
  3. Cheese
  4. Any of the aforementioned chips, with dip (salsa, hummus, guacamole, refried bean dip, white bean, seafood)
  5. Granola (although creating a sugarless version to attract otherwise irritable people hasn’t quite worked here)
  6. Fruit
  7. Veggies with ranch or nut butter
  8. Popcorn (although I’m limiting this due to GMO cross contamination concerns)
  9. Leftovers (requires prep work by spouse…….unlikely but should be included)

As we’re expecting a third little bundle of joy, I have decided that posting a list of simple to prepare meals for my spouse would be in the children’s best interest, especially as he hates/despises/refuses to cook anything more complicated than a grilled cheese or pasta with jarred sauce.  If you are fortunate enough to have a spouse that can/will cook, consider yourself blessed in that respect.  The children have actually revolted against him when he attempts to feed them grilled cheese each and every time he needs to prepare them something to eat (as would I!).

Simple meals for dad:

  1. The good old standby peanut butter and jelly
  2. Grilled cheese
  3. Pasta with sauce
  4. Eggs
  5. Minimally processed hot dogs
  6. Quesadillas (refried beans, cheese, tortilla)
  7. Kibbe with rice (I buy these pre-made as it is difficult to make the football shaped ones we like)
  8. Reheat pancakes mama made (stashed in freezer)
  9. Swedish meatballs (meatballs stashed in freezer, add equal parts salsa and jam to make sauce, simmer the meatballs in it, serve on pasta or rice)
  10. Sardines (yum yum, my kids love sardines, I have no idea why, probably just to torture me with their smells and greasy little hands afterwards)
  11. Tinned soup (be discerning with the quality of the tinned soup you purchase)
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

