Skip to content

Scalloped Potatoes

April 30, 2010

Oh my I do believe I have injured myself eating scalloped potatoes.  My spouse was absolutely thrilled with my latest kitchen innovation.  I have a tendency towards seasoning by eye versus measurement, so be aware that the measurements are approximate.  I realize that cooking with some items, for instance powdered garlic or dehydrated onions is frowned up on in some circles, but locally I have been unable to get my hands on any decent white onions or garlic for months.  Where have all the onions and garlic bulbs gone?

And on to scalloped potatoes that will prevent you from opening a box of pre-made ones ever again as you savor these in ecstasy you will joyfully curse me and my crazy kitchen makeover.  I need to go to REI so my directions tonight are paltry.

Scalloped Potatoes

1 – 5 pound bag of organic white potatoes (by the time you fish out all the rotten and icky ones, you’ll probably be down to 3.5 – 4 pounds – why the big bags of organic potatoes always have icky ones is beyond me), peeled and thinly sliced

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon dried thyme

3 rounds of freshly ground black pepper

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

2 tablespoons dehydrated onions

3 bay leaves

2 tablespoons butter, cut into 6 pieces

1 cup heavy whipping cream

1 cup chicken broth (Pacific!)

1/2 cup grated sharp cheddar cheese (much more flavorful than regular cheddar)

1/2 cup mixed shredded white cheeses (Trader Joe’s has a good asiago, parmesan, provolone mix)

400 degree oven.  Greased 9 x 13 pan.  Throw sliced potatoes in pan, separating them out as you go.  Top with spices and onions, then pour cream and broth over top.  Dot with butter.  Cover tightly with parchment covered with aluminum foil.  Bake until your potatoes are cooked through (this might take as long as an hour, probably 40 minutes’ish).  When you are satisfied with your potato doneness, fish bay leaves off and top with cheese.  Let go uncovered till melted, browned should you so desire.  We couldn’t wait that long.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 4, 2010 4:51 am

    I love potatoes! My day is not complete without any potato on my tummy.

Leave a Reply

