Skip to content

Crackers

April 27, 2010

Replacing commercially produced crackers gave me panic attacks, specifically, how to recreate the tasty crispyness and the full flavor of something like the Club or Ritz cracker while being whole grain and not loaded down with additives sounded impossible.  I found this great recipe and soaked my flour for approaching 18 hours, which produced a delightful cheesy flavor.

Here’s the recipe I used and I wholeheartedly suggest you try it today!  I cannot vouch for how long they’ll last at your household as the kids are eating these at a rate to make the vacuum cleaner jealous.  I used whole wheat pastry flour,  organic butter, 3/4 teaspoon of salt, and cream top yogurt.

I recommend cutting them to 1 inch squares to ensure that they are crispy.  I made my first batch a little larger than club crackers and they weren’t as crispy as I would have liked.  I baked these on my silpat and absolutely loaded up my pan, they don’t require any extra space as they don’t rise or get larger while baking.

Recipe From “The Nourishing Gourmet”

“Rich, buttery Crackers (made out of Yogurt Dough)

The night before cream in a large bowl:

1 cup of plain whole yogurt (I substituted a very creamy buttermilk)
1 cup of butter, softened

Mix in:

3 1/2 cups of freshly ground spelt or wheat flour
2 teaspoons of salt

Cover and leave in a warm place for 12 to 24 hours (this is the “soaking” part). Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Using flour to dust your surface and dough, roll your dough out thin. Cut into strips and then cut into squares.

Place your squares on an ungreased cookie sheet and prick with a fork. Bake for about 8 minutes and check, keep checking every two minutes until done. They should be browning slightly on the edges, when done. Take off of sheet and place on a cooling rack and enjoy!”

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 1, 2010 5:01 pm

    dang cool stuff bro.

Leave a Reply

