Skip to content

Nutrition meets reality.

April 21, 2010

Now, as far as most parents go, I have to say that I have a clue.  I am well informed on nutrition and how to make good nutritional choices for our family.  We have struggled through food sensitivities and food allergies to include the elimination of gluten, casein, soy, corn, eggs and nuts at one point or another.  But yesterday, I was left speechless, dumbfounded really.  My eldest at nearly 5 years old has a mouthful of pre-cavities.  Really?

I had a rather spirited discussion with the dentist about our diet and his position was that this is entirely our fault due to a combination of poor nutrition and dental hygeine.  Hmmm.  I explained how we eat a large number of fruits and vegetables, strongly limit any refined flours or sugars, and do not allow juice but once a week.  The response was that our daughter does a bad job brushing and flossing, the latter with a too low frequency.  Hmmm.  I replied that my spouse and I do the brushing and we floss her teeth at least every other day.  I asked if it was possible that it was due in part to a genetic predisposition, as my spouse had 5 cavities as a child.  I only have one, that occurred during my second pregnancy.  No, per the dentist this is entirely due to our failure and neglect as parents.  Any processed foods in any quantity whatsoever caused this problem.  Really?  I have to say that I do not care for this dentist very much.  I’ll be calling his partner for a second opinion whom we regularly see.

In the meantime, we have removed what few processed foods and sugars were in the house and explained to our daughter the condition of her teeth and how we were going to work together to prevent further decay.  She was understandably upset.  I am understandably upset, especially as the onus of creating an even more nutritionally sound diet for the family lies squarely on my plate, as it were, and I am now joyfully pregnant with our third.   In addition to more frequent and thorough brushing and the elimination of the remaining processed foods from our home, we will be increasing the vitamin D and liquid calcium magnesium citrate supplements that the children receive.   I will also be changing their daily multivitamin and ensuring that they receive at least one dose of a probiotic rich food or a probiotic rich supplement.
Either way, it’s going to be interesting and as I foray into new things I will most certainly share my insights and failures with you.  I am most interested to see how I am going to bake completely sugar free, only using fruits and vegetables as natural sweeteners, as a change from baking with honey and molasses.
DQ

One Comment leave one →
  1. Amnesty permalink
    April 28, 2010 5:58 pm

    It’s nothing you’re doing wrong. It IS genetics. I brush and floss every single day. My 3 year old brushes 3-4 times a day and I brush her teeth and floss them every night.
    We both still have cavities. I asked her dentist if there was anything else we could do, since we’re already brushing and flossing and using a fluoride toothpaste (which I wouldn’t be doing if she didn’t have dental issues), and he said no, there really isn’t, except to increase the frequency of her dental checkups. Poor kid has had one tooth extracted and has a crown on another. But my other two kids are FINE. My oldest had one cavity, and HE is the one who fights me on brushing and flossing on a daily basis.

Leave a Reply

