Skip to content

Whole Wheat Fig Muffins

April 11, 2010

We’ve slowly eaten up all the foods in our pantry I realized today that I was starving and there weren’t any quick snacks.  I remembered that I had some frozen cooked figs and decided to make some muffins.  Although cake was definitely a thought, people are more likely to eat muffins around my house.  So here’s the recipe I drafted to use them.  Be prepared, it makes a LOT of muffins.  4 dozen mini muffins AND 1.5 dozen regular muffins.

2/3  c honey

1/3 c maple syrup

8  T butter melted

2 eggs

1 c yogurt

1 c milk

2 c figs (peeled, chopped, cooked – small pieces) (I found these in my freezer)

4 c Whole wheat pastry flour

2 t baking powder

1 t baking soda

1/2 t salt (1 tsp salt if using unsalted butter)

1/4 t nutmeg

400 degrees.  Combine wet thoroughly.  Add dry.  Place in greased muffin tins.  Bake till done – I go by my nose and when a finger is pressed on top it springs back.

DQ

Leave a Reply

