Skip to content

Excellent dinner and wonderful dessert on the way!

March 30, 2010

It has been a gorgeous spring day. The dryer unfortunately gave out on me, but the sun and wind were more than adequate to dry five loads of laundry. Continuing with my pantry clean out, I made arroz con pollo and steamed broccoli for dinner. For dessert, I am looking forward to the Seven Layer Bars that are baking as I type. The arroz con pollo recipe comes from my Nana (dad’s mother) and while I’m not sure where she learned it, I vaguely remember something about Puerto Rico where my grandfather was stationed at some point in his Coast Guard career.

Nana’s Arroz Con Pollo
10 Oz bag saffron rice
14.5 oz can diced tomatoes (with juice)
1.5 to 2 cups chickpeas (cooked – if using canned, drain and rinse)
1/2 pound cooked chicken
green olives, pitted (optional)

Combine 3 cups of water, tinned tomatoes, green olives, and bring to a boil. Add rice bag mixture, chicken, and chickpeas. Lower heat to a slow simmer, and cook till rice is done. If you have it set too high, above a 2 or 3 on an electric range it will burn. Stir occasionally. We serve with steamed broccoli more often than not.

Seven Layer Bars

2 handfuls walnuts
1.5 sleeves graham crackers
1 stick butter, melted
maraschino cherries (drained small jar, chopped – fight the kids for the HFCS laden juice)
1.5 cups semi sweet chocolate chips
1 cup butterscotch chips (didn’t have any tonight boo hoo)
1-2 cups shredded unsweetened coconut
1 can condensed milk

350 degrees.

In a food processor, chop the nuts. Remove and set aside. In food processor, combine graham crackers and butter. Process and press in greased 9×13 pan. Top with nuts, cherries, chips, coconut and then pour the milk evenly over the top. Bake till browned 20-30 minutes. Cool completely. Cut into squares and enjoy. Not healthy, but a tasty treat for my spouse.

No comments yet

Leave a comment