Skip to content

Merlot Steak

March 10, 2010

So I bought some rather massive sirloins at Costco. I don’t usually buy non-organic meat if I can help it, but I couldn’t get past a craving for steak. Decent organic or grass fed options aren’t readily available locally except during farmer’s market times. I also don’t drink wine – much to my poor father’s irritation, as he and my step-mom are wine connoisseurs. Those two points aside, I have some picnic bottles of Merlot specifically purchased for cooking.

I marinated this steak far too long (1.5 days) but it did have a good flavor. In the future, this will be an overnight marinade. I couldn’t find any onions or shallots at the market, most were rotting. I wanted 3 decent sized shallots or 1 large white onion. Into a large Ziploc bag, I put:

2 (of the four) massive sirloins
EVOO (about 1/4 cup)
2 pinches thyme
1 bay leaf
1 picnic bottle Merlot
sea salt
fresh cracked black pepper
3 grated garlic cloves

They turned out well and the children and I gobbled up our fair share. My spouse isn’t home yet so I’m not sure if it will pass his muster.

I always serve steak with a minimum of 1 package of sliced white mushrooms cooked over very high heat in 1/3 stick of butter. When you cook them at high heat, they brown beautifully and taste beyond fabulous!

I apologize for the gap in postings, but I’ve been rather unwell, fortunately the tide has turned!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

