Skip to content

Sometimes, discomfort is okay.

February 7, 2008

I was very uncomfortable today. The car next to me had an infant car seat it in, uninstalled, with a child in it who wasn’t even buckled into the actual seat proper. I asked my husband if I could ask the people if I could show them how to install it properly. He didn’t think that would be a good idea as we weren’t in the best part of town. Regardless, I did anyways telling him that all they could say was no. They didn’t and they were happy for the assistance. Now mind you, they didn’t have latch and this was a very old bucket seat. So I couldn’t completely install the seat and told them that they needed to get a lock tite adjuster for the belt. Driving away, I remembered that I might have one in the car. My car has latch and I purchased a bucket for my first child. This adjuster had been riding around in my car for approaching 3 years. I drove back and finished installing the seat, relieved that they hadn’t pulled away. I said to my husband, “God has a plan for everything you know?” I mean, honestly, 3 years, and I am pretty picky about things not being in my car that don’t need to be there. There is no such thing as a coincidence. This is the second time that I have approached someone and asked if I could help them with the install of their carseat. Both times I was uncomfortable doing so, but remembered that otherwise that kid has no chance in a wreck. I’m not a certified car seat installer and have always reminded these people to get the installs checked at the fire station, but at least an install from someone with two kids who is very familiar with carseats is better than the child being ejected from both the seat and the vehicle. I explained that you must actually buckle the child into the seat. Thanks God. I needed that nudge today. I was really afraid they would get upset with me given the “Breastfeeding for all and circumcision for none” sticker on the side of my car closest to them. They were happy and I was happy to help.
Liz

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2008 11:26 pm

    How fortuitous you were there to help them!

  2. February 18, 2008 6:44 pm

    That was really sweet of you and I’m glad they accepted the help rather than get offended. I really think most people want to do the best thing but some folks do look at carseats as something required by law vs. something you need for safety. You did something great!

  3. May 9, 2008 11:06 am

    What a wonderful story Liz! Your obedience to the Spirit is beautiful here! It takes guts to be uncomfortable, yet willing! Great post!!

Leave a Reply

