Skip to content

Busy Day, baking and Potato Soup Recipe

February 3, 2008

Today was a busy day. I baked some pumpkin muffins, pumpkin cookies, and pumpkin pancakes. I had to use the whole can of canned pumpkin so I had to get creative. I also baked a cheeseless pizza for my daughter and myself and a regular pizza for my husband. His looked more appetizing, but oh well. The pizza that I made with a GF crust was tasty regardless.
So I am now making some potato soup. A friend of mine made this for me after my son was born and I’ve perfected her recipe which was, “Liz saute some onions and garlic, then add cooked potatoes and chicken broth and run through the blender. Salt and pepper to taste.” So it took some perfecting, but thanks to Nicola!!

Potato Soup
3 large baking potatoes (steak sized) or 8 red potatoes – peeled, diced and boiled*
1 tsp canola or olive oil
4 cloves garlic diced finely**
1/2 small onion chopped finely
Gluten Free Low Sodium Chicken Broth (Trader Joe’s makes a great one)
Salt and pepper to taste
Garnish:
Sliced green onion
Cheese
Cooked, diced bacon

Saute garlic and onion in oil until soft. Set aside 1 cup of cooked potato. In a blender combine the cooked potatoes, onion, garlic and 1 cup of chicken broth. Run blender and continue to drizzle in the broth until you achieve the consistency of soup you like. Salt and pepper to taste. Add the reserved potatoes. Put in pan to heat through. When heated through, pour into serving container and top with onion, cheese and bacon if you wish.

*Reserve potato starch water for watering houseplants or baking yeast breads. I bake yeast bread for my spouse.
** If you are not a huge fan of garlic, I would recommend reducing the garlic by half, to two cloves.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

