Skip to content

The Compact

January 29, 2008

Well. I’ve decided to join the Compact, in particular a group called Mamas on the Comact for a period of 2 months, http://compactingmamas.blogspot.com/. I’m basing my Compact off of an adjusted compact contract written by Krista. If this goes well, I’ll extend it. My husband said this is absolutely something that he could not do, I have a feeling because of his side business that some items he simply must purchase and he might feel like it was somehow cheating. I’m joining because while I do recycle and am not currently composting I am amazed at the amount of both waste and money involved in said products. I’d also like to support locals as much as possible. Also, I’m working hard to avoid things not manufactured here in the US should I absolutely need to purchase something for labor and economy support reasons. Regardless, here’s

My Pledge:
Follow the rules and exemptions of the original Ccompact, with a few personal exemptions. Connect with other “Compacters” in Atlanta, to share resources.
The Principals and Exemptions of The Compact

* #1 Don’t buy new products of any kind (from stores, web sites, etc.)
* #2 Borrow, barter, or buy used.
* A few exceptions – using the “fair and reasonable person” standard — i.e., you’ll know in your heart when you’re rationalizing a violation:
o food, drink, and necessary medicine (Try to purchase from Natural Foods Warehouse, Life Grocery, and avoid Walmart like the plague)
o necessary cleaning products, but not equipment
o socks and underwear (I can buy cute ones for me as I’m trying desperately to lose weight)
o clothes for the children (we have a new 4 month old son, but I prefer consignment/used/donated and our 2.5 year old daughter is in bizarre sizes sometimes 12 and 18 month, but with a size 7 shoe??)
* Utilitarian services (plumbers, electricians, auto mechanics, veterinarians, dog/house-sitters, fire/paramedics, dry cleaners, house cleaners, etc.) — Support local and encourage used parts (rebuilt transmission, salvaged headlight unit, etc.)
* Recreational services (massage, etc.) & local artisanal items – Good sources for gifts, but should not be over-indulged in for personal gratification
* Charitable contributions
* Plants and cut flowers – Whenever possible, cultivate from free cuttings or seeds. Ok in extreme moderation when purchased from local businesses (this will apply when we get a house, but I do have friends who have LOVELY gardens)
* Video rentals – we are forced to stay away from the public due to William’s RSV and 6 weeks is a LONG time to only watch what is available on free public tv

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

