Skip to content

So it’s been rather quiet.

August 22, 2010

My first updside down fruit cake success.

I haven’t been up to much lately, being the size of a small orca and all.

Today has been interesting.  The spouse bought a new to me 7 passenger Ford Freestyle.  He and the children are detailing it.  The car is black and attracts bird poop at a ridiculous rate these days. I must say that while I appreciate that I can now tote all the children in it, the substantial drop in fuel economy from my Civic sedan is painful.  It’s not as though I could ever fit 3 child seats safely in the Civic though, been there done that bought the sweatshirt.  The curve of the backseat combined with the center hump proves it non-viable.

Bird poop aside, today I made swedish meatballs and a peach upside down cake.  It is based on of this recipe.  I substituted honey for the sugar and doubled the ginger using freshly grated.  I eliminated 1/2 of the sugar on the peaches.  I also added 1/4 tsp of black strap molasses to my syrup for the pan.  It’s cooling now.  The Swedish meatballs are always fun and the sauce a little different each time, depending on the variety of jam/preserves/jelly available that day.  Today we had a pint of fig preserves from last summer so I mixed it with the salsa and the meatballs are marinating until baking time when they will bake in the sauce.  Yum.  I haven’t figured out the sides yet.

Provided the cake flips well, I”ll post pictures later.  I once tried to make a pineapple upside down cake, that didn’t end well.

Update: While the cake was very pretty, the texture left a lot to be desired. It was very thick and gummy. In the future, I will use a different cake recipe for the actual cake topping and use the same syrup base for the peaches. It was okay and we won’t toss it, but it is highly unlikely people are going to be having seconds tonight.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kim permalink
    August 22, 2010 9:38 pm

    Liz, what made you decide on the Freestyle? We are in the same situation as you and looking for a dependable vehicle that will fit a family of 5. Also looking for a good buy–the Odyssey is wonderful but pricey, even used!

    • dachshundqueen permalink*
      August 23, 2010 7:54 am

      It has excellent crash test ratings, good gas mileage, drives well, very spacious, cheaper and more stylish than a minivan. We searched for the 7 passenger with middle bench and 2 bucket seats in the back, because long term (say 3 years) I can put all 3 kids in the middle row and use the car more like a traditional station wagon whereas with an older model minivan I am permanently stuck using all three rows and the storage isn’t anywhere near as useful. It has a roof rack and I can put a boat up there and we can use it for trips. We got the nearly fully loaded SEL version with DVD and leather, etc., and are really happy with “Millie the Tank.” A minivan of the same vintage with the same options would have cost at least $7-$9k more.

  2. August 27, 2010 1:11 am

    A+ would read again

  3. jim permalink
    September 10, 2010 1:46 pm

    this is awesome man

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

